Digital Media and Education

 

What role(s) does digital media have in facilitating student learning and engagement? I knew that I would choose this topic for sure, from the moment that our lecturer showed us the topics because this is what I am familiar with, it was something I had already experienced and also, which is what I am currently doing.

Before I started making the video, I had to have a story first, so the best way of having a story is using my own story and others story. Therefore, most parts of the video are based on my own experience and some are from others, and yes, it saved me lots of time when it came to plan my shoot, write the storyboard and everything. In addition, the main content of this video is as follows: Firstly, digital media assists students learning in various ways and lead to a life of joy. Secondly, digital media not only can assist students enhancing their learning efficiency but also can help teacher’s teaching and increasing interactive learning experience. However, although digital media bring many benefits to people, it still has some issues occur, even so, the advantages of the digital media are far more than the disadvantages.

Moreover, in the video, I tried to compare two conditions, the first one was the traditional style study (in the past), it focused on the issues that students and teachers faced when they had no digital media. And for the second one was when digital media comes to people’s lives, what are the benefits that digital media bring to education.

However, what surprised me was the video turned out very well and natural. To be honest, this was the first solo video that I did it myself and I cannot believe I really made it. It was very fun and I loved doing it, however, it was not that easy to make the whole video by myself because it had its own set of challenges. In other words, there are many aspects I need to be very careful:

First, the Copyright, so I only allowed to use the works (music, pictures and so on) with the Creative Common license because this is a public blog post and I think this is important to be aware of all the time when using someone’s work, therefore, it is not only good for you, good for others, it is also good for your future career.

Second, the scholarly scouse because this is an academic blog post, so I need to take it very seriously when it came to arguing something or to support my argument. Therefore, in order to accurately discuss the topic of digital media and education, I had to do some reading. Besides the weekly reading (provided by the unit), I also did some research on the Deakin library and online—E-books of course, so again thanks to the digital media and technology, I did not even have to go to the library in person and I still can found the right sources to support my video.

Third, making the video, as I mentioned above I did the whole video almost by “myself” like acting a teacher and student, talking to myself in front of the camera, editing, most of the shooting and etc. However, it did not mean that I do not want others to help, it was because I want to challenge myself, I wanted to know that I can make it or not and yes I almost made it, it was hard but really fun and it gave me a sense of achievement.

All in all, I know that this is not a perfect video blog post but once I had tried I would know what I should improve for the next one, also I learnt a lot of things through this unit and assignments even it was not that easy but for me, it is all worth it.

(Word Count: 652 words)

 

Credit to:

Filming: Eric Chen, Evelyn Tang

Cameraman: Eric Chen

Editor: Evelyn Tang

Editing program: Final Cut Pro

Music: ‘smile’ by Dixxy. (CC BY-SA 3.0)

Image 1: ‘Group 4 working’ by Guttorm Flatabø (CC BY 2.0)

Image 2: ‘Working Group’ by Michael Coghlan (CC BY-SA 2.0)

Image 3: ‘Wendt WisCEL: group work’ by college.library (CC BY 2.0)

 

References:

Arnesen, T, Elstad, E & Christophersen, K.T 2017, ‘Learner antecedents of youth’s beliefs about agency and online learning’ Digital Culture & Education, vol. 9, no. 2, pp. 98-117, retrieved 19 January 2018, <http://www.digitalcultureandeducation.com/cms/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/arnesen.pdf>.

Brown, EL.,  Krasteva, A & Ranieri, M 2016, E-learning and Social Media: Education and Citizenship for the Digital 21st Century,  Information Age Publishing, retrieved on 20 January 2018, <https://ebookcentral-proquest-com.ezproxy-b.deakin.edu.au/lib/deakin/detail.action?docID=4557199>.

Garrison, DR 2016, E-Learning In The 21St Century : A Community Of Inquiry Framework For Research And Practice, Taylor and Francis, retrieved 19 January 2018,<https://ebookcentral-proquest-com.ezproxy-f.deakin.edu.au/lib/deakin/detail.action?docID=4710094>.

The Economist asks: Is ed tech transforming education? 2016, podcast, The Economist, 4 February, retrieved 19 January 2018,<https://www.economist.com/news/international/21690125-anne-mcelvoy-world-economic-forum-explores-whether-technology-changing-how-world?fsrc=scn/tw_ec/the_economist_asks_is_ed_tech_transforming_education_>.

 

Creative Commons:

Coghlan, M 2013, ‘Working Group’, Flickr, retrieved 20 January 2018,<https://flic.kr/p/fd4Kj6>.

College.library 2012, ‘Wendt WisCEL: group work’, Flickr, retrieved 20 January 2018, <https://flic.kr/p/e6DzCQ>.

Dixxy. 2017, ‘smile’ SoundCloud, retrieved 20 January 2018, <https://soundcloud.com/dixxy-2/smile>.

Flatabø, G 2010, ‘Group 4 working’, Flickr, retrieved 20 January 2018, <https://flic.kr/p/7wqm4W>.

Leave a comment